GH #2 Reflection- Manga and Anime Drawing

For my second Genius Hour project, I chose to research manga and anime drawing, my research question being:

♦How can you learn or improve manga/anime drawing?♦

I chose this as I am very fond of Japanese culture (as mentioned in several previous posts), and drawing. I really enjoy drawing chibi characters, and like I wanted to work on a project that interested me, I chose this one.

I researched through asking people about this (and looking for online sources) and testing out different ways to draw anime or chibi. Throughout my research, I learned many interesting tips which would improve my current manga drawing skills, such as: study anatomy, never trace (not that I do), use an example, and take in feedback from someone you know wont take it easy on you.
If I were to use this project for a positive outcome in mine or someone else’s future I would say that this will increase the ability and speed of learning to draw, which will mostly be used for jobs such as anime or manga creators or artists. This is a job that interests me and improving my drawing skills now will give me a high chance to succeed in this career path.

For my next Genius Hour Presentation, I’m thinking that I would make one about photography or Dutch food. Photography because it is also an interest of mine towards a professional outcome, and because I already have a lot of knowledge on this subject. Dutch food because it is a very important thing to us Dutch; I know much about the subject and this will increase the audience’s global awareness by learning what the average Dutch diet consists of.

Work Cited:

BagoGames.”Nichijou Releases on Home Video By FUNimation”.Flickr,Feb 11, 2017,https://www.flickr.com/photos/bagogames/32795671076, Mar 30,2018.

Sⓘndy°.”Van der Breggen 荷蘭傳統糖漿煎餅”.Flickr,Jul 13, 2009, https://www.flickr.com/photos/sindykids/3716443930, Mar 30, 2018.

Danny Choo.”Chibi Characters”. Flickr,Jan 31, 2011, https://www.flickr.com/photos/dannychoo/5402535701, Mar 30, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *